Volunteer Morocco Day 5 (Big Clinic Day, Hike down the Atlas Mountains)

Sunday, January 1st 2017

Today was the day that we had been waiting for since the beginning of our trip. Finally we got to do direct hands-on patient care with the people in the village. Although it simple tasks like measuring blood pressure, pulse oximeters and blood glucose, I felt like I had made a difference and that the people were also very grateful for it. It was also my first time taking blood glucoses on actual patients! I would take these measurements, and then would assist the patients towards a doctor in the back of the room for further assessment.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The whole event was roughly about 2-3 hours and we saw over 300 people! Aside from our setup, there was also a dentistry, eye-care and pharmacy section that we also had for the people. This was definitely one of my best highlights of the trip. Although I could not talk to the patients because of the language barrier, I hope they felt my compassion and caring towards their health.

Processed with VSCO with kk1 preset

We wrapped everything up around noon and went back to the common building to have lunch! This time it was chicken tajin and in my opinion, I prefer it with chicken then with beef 🙂

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

After our amazing lunch, we packed up our bags once again and started our 3 hour hike down the Atlas Mountains! Going downhill would have been dangerous with the narrow road with a van so part of the trip down had to be by foot. I LOVED hiking down the mountain! It was so free and everyone could walk down at their own pace. The scene was AMAZING and I don’t know when the next time I will be able to see such a scenery again. In no way does the pictures provide the actual view any justice but here they are!

img_0067

You can see little snow caps on top of the mountains!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

We met up with our van along the way and the rest of the day was dedicated for us to get back to our sweet hotel! I was so tired and hungry at the end of the day and I didn’t want to post anything about Saeed’s and I adventures but today was an exception because I had one of my best meals that night! (Probably because I was starving that I could eat anything but no, it was amazing 🙂 )

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Thank you for reading!

-Caroline

Leave a Reply

